Skip To The Main Content
Test tub page banner

FOUNDation News

OREF announces 2018-2019 OREF Board of Trustees

by OREF | Apr 30, 2018

Board president, Dr. Michael L. Parks, identifies three strategic priorities for his term, including stronger collaborations with orthopaedic partners.

The Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) is pleased to announce the 2018-2019 OREF Board of Trustees.

Former president-elect, Michael L. Parks, MD, will serve a two-year term as president of the 63-year old foundation. Dr. Parks is the vice chair for quality & clinical director of orthopaedic surgery at Hospital for Special Surgery (HSS) in New York. He succeeds David G Lewallen, MD, who remains on the board as past president. Richard F. Kyle, MD, is OREF’s new president-elect. Current trustee Jeffrey S. Abrams, MD, will serve as chair of corporate development, succeeding Dr. Kyle in that role. Trustee Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, will serve in the new role of treasurer-elect. In addition, the board welcomes new trustee Nicholas M. Bernthal, MD (University of California, Los Angeles).

The board would like to thank those trustees whose terms have been fulfilled for their years of service: John J. Callaghan, MD and John R. Tongue, MD.

In the coming year, as part of its mission to facilitate more research, the OREF board, led by Dr. Parks, will focus the foundation’s financial and intellectual resources on programs and projects that support one or more of the following strategic priorities:

  • Encourage greater interaction and cooperation among orthopaedic partners
  • Leverage its considerable shared resources to facilitate breakthrough orthopaedic research funding
  • Identify the skills, knowledge and technology that will move orthopaedic patient care forward

In an article published in the March 9th issue of AAOS NOW Daily, Dr. Parks stated, “I firmly believe that it’s more critical than ever that all of orthopaedics comes together to identify research priorities to improve patient care and establish shared goals that move each of our subspecialties forward with energy and purpose.”

OREF officers and executive committee members for 2018-2019 are: Michael L. Parks, MD, President; Richard F. Kyle, MD, President-Elect; David G. Lewallen, MD, Past President; James G. Borovsky, Secretary-Treasurer; Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, Treasurer-Elect; Matthew B. Dobbs, MD, Chair, Grants Committee; Jeffrey S. Abrams, MD, Chair, Corporate Development; and Richard F. Santore, MD, Chair, Individual Development.

OREF trustees for 2018-2019 are: Christopher R. Adams, MD; B. Sonny Bal, MD, JD, MBA; John A. Bergfeld, MD; Nicholas M. Bernthal, MD; Eric V. Dremel; David C. Dvorak, JD; James R. Ficke, MD; Letha Y. Griffin, MD, PhD; Farshid Guilak, PhD; Mary Lloyd Ireland, MD; Lawrence G. Lenke, MD; Timothy J. Luchetti, MD; William C. McMaster, MD; and Thomas P. Sculco, MD.
All news