Joshua Jacobs, MD, Named OREF President

Respected clinician scientist to drive foundation's research mission forward
03-06-2024 | Updated: 3-06-2024

The Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation (OREF) is pleased to announce Joshua J. Jacobs, MD, as its new president for 2024-2026. Dr. Jacobs becomes the foundation’s 29th president and succeeds Thomas P. Sculco, MD, who served as president from 2022-2024. Dr. Sculco will serve a two-year term as immediate past president.

In his acceptance speech, Dr. Jacobs said, “It's really one of the highlights of my career to assume the presidency of the OREF. The organization is one I passionately believe in. I'm a researcher at heart and I'm going to do my very best to bring the organization to the next level.“ In his remarks, Dr. Jacobs recognized Dr. Sculco and thanked him for his leadership, noting that, “what he [Dr. Sculco] has done for this organization over the last two years is truly remarkable.”

Dr. Jacobs’ service to OREF spans more than 25 years, during which time he has served in multiple roles, including,

  • President-Elect (2022-2024)
  • Treasurer-Elect (2017-2018)
  • Treasurer (2019-2021)
  • Trustee (2008-2010, 2016-2018)
  • Chair of the Mentor Campaign Committee (2018-2021)
  • Research Grants Committee Member (2017-2022)
  • Grant Program Director (2018-2022)
  • Peer Reviewer (1996-2001)

He is also an OREF grant alum, having received an OREF Career Development Grant in 1990. More recently he received the Orthopaedic Research Society/Orthopaedic Research and Education Foundation Distinguished Investigator Award in 2020 and was presented the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons’ (AAOS) 2024 William W. Tipton Jr., MD, Leadership Award, which recognizes AAOS members who have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities that have benefitted the orthopaedic community, patients and/or the American public. Dr. Jacobs served as president of the AAOS in 2013-2014.

Dr. Jacobs is the William A. Hark, MD/Susanne G. Swift Professor and Chair Emeritus of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at RUSH University Medical Center in Chicago where he served as chairperson for 16 years.