Skip To The Main Content
Chemical formula page banner

2015 Symposia Winners

Top Presenters

See the research that received top honors at this year's and past Resident Research Symposia by choosing a year from the list below.

2023 | 2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

17th Annual OREF/ORS Resident Research Symposia

OREF and ORS gave residents the opportunity to present research papers to a panel of their peers at the 2015 Resident Research Symposia.

Thanks to , DePuy Synthes and Zimmer, whose grant support made the 17th Annual Symposia possible!

We congratulate the top presenters from each symposium!

Midwest Regional Resident Research Symposium

Friday, April 17, 2015
University of Chicago Gleacher Conference Center 450 N. Cityfront Plaza Drive, Room 200 Chicago, IL​
  • Host: Douglas R. Dirschl, MD, Chairman, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Rehabilitation Medicine, University of Chicago
  • Guest speaker: Scott J. Mubarak, MD, University of California San Diego School of Medicine

First Place – Basic Science
Daniel Baluch, MD

Loyola University Medical Center
Effect of Physiological Loads on Cortical and Traditional Pedicle Screw Fixation

First Place – Clinical Science
Rachel Mednick Thompson, MD
Northwestern University
Vitamin D Insufficiency and Fracture Risk in Urban Children

Second Place

Jimmy Jiang, MD
University of Chicago
Risk Factors for Complications Following Open Reduction Internal Fixation of Ankle Fractures: Developing, Validating, and Refining a Predictive Model

Third Place
Peter N. Chalmers, MD
Rush University Medical Center
Postoperative Restoration of Upper Extremity Motion and Neuromuscular Control During the Overhand Pitch

California Orthopaedic Association Annual Meeting

Saturday, April 25, 2015

First Place
Gregory Lopez, MD

University of California, Irvine
A Cost-Effective Junior Resident Training and Assessment Simulator for Orthopaedic Surgical Skills via Fundamentals of Orthopaedic Surgery

Florida Orthopaedic Association Annual Meeting

Sunday, June 7, 2015

First Place
Alex Fokin Jr., MD

Jackson Memorial Hospital/University of Miami
CT Assessment of Peroneal Tendon Displacement and Posteromedial Structure Entrapment in Pilon Frantures

Second Place

David R. Sollaccio, MD
University of Florida
Clinical Predictors for Optimal Functional Outcomes in Reverse Total Shoulder Arthroplasty

Third Place
Marc N. Ialenti, MD
Jackson Memorial Hospital/University of Miami
Analysis of Orthpaedic Surgery Consultation for Diabetic Foot Complications at a Large, Public Hospital: A Quality Improvement Project